Warming up the headphones

Today I want to talk about a very controversial topic among audiophiles - warming up headphones. Some people think, that's just bullshit, others are sure of the need for this procedure. Others don't believe, but just in case, they try to make the necessary manipulations after the purchase, and the fourth do not know at all, what am i talking about now (they write). So I'll tell you everything, regarding the procedure for running in new ears.

How long to warm up the headphones?

Open several articles on this topic, read the comments, check out the forums. You will see completely different recommendations. Scatter from 6 to 250 hours. This difference is understandable, because there is no scientific evidence. It's just a theory, based only on the subjective feelings of specific users. Professionals from amateurs have identified some patterns:

  1. The more expensive, harder device, the longer the break-in time it needs. The price here is an indication of the quality of the ears.
  2. Plugs can be pumped faster than full-size ones. Although some people think otherwise. In their opinion, a larger diffuser stroke allows the process to go faster. In the same time, it is full-size ones that often have a more complex device, they are more demanding on the power of the sound source.
  3. For simple earplugs, average prices are recommended from 12 to 48 warm-up hours.
  4. Expensive monitors require break-in from 50 to 200-250 hours.
  5. Warming up headphones with special tracks or recording pink / white noise will be faster, than listening to regular music.
  6. How long does it take to get new ears in?, you need to go by your own feelings.. If already after 6 hours of headphone warm-up noticeably improved, then the process can be completed. Then they "reach" with normal use..
  7. If after 250 hours the user does not notice the effect, then meaning, keep on rolling, No. You are only shortening the life of your ears..
  8. You can rock the device in several steps with breaks, but at the same volume.
Author's opinion! After several tests, I came to the conclusion, what 100 hours headphone warm-up more than enough. If during this time there is no result, it's unlikely to show up later..
Warming up the headphones
Free-Photos image from Pixabay.com

At what volume to warm up the headphones?

How not to use the device at full capacity, also running on 100% sound is not recommended.. This is what professionals from manufacturing companies say, common sense. In the same time, to reveal the full potential of the ears through warming up, quiet level is not suitable. There is 2 volume recommendations during break-in:

  1. Personal Feelings. Turn up the track a little louder, what makes you comfortable.
  2. More accurate advice. Set playback to level up 75%.
Read also

How to increase the sound in headphones on a computer or laptop

Warming up the headphones

For those, who is not familiar with the topic at all. The process of running in new ears is carried out to improve the sound quality and increase the volume of the device.. After purchase, users are often dissatisfied with dull, inexpressive basses, screaming high frequencies, quiet sound. Warming up the headphones solves this problem.

The process is compared to wearing new shoes, which becomes more comfortable after a few days. The device is being developed, reveals its full potential. It has not been scientifically proven, but confirmed by numerous audiophile reviews.

You can warm up a new device using a special track, where all frequencies are worked out. This is what is called white noise.. Or regular music. Headphones will open during normal use, but count, how long will it take. This period may overlap the service life.

Author's note! There is another interesting method headphone warm-up, which I will talk about later.

Step-by-step instructions for breaking in new ears:

  1. Download a special track or open it on the website. Or choose the music (I will talk about this later).
  2. Connect device to audio source. Please note, what for full-sized monitors with higher impedance 32 Ohm phone won't fit. You need a powerful amplifier. But for a device with resistance up to 32 Oh, and a smartphone is enough.
  3. Turn on the track and set the volume.
  4. Ears can be stowed away in a drawer, in a box, if noise interferes.
  5. Check sound from time to time.

Which headphones need warming up, and which are not:

  • You can absolutely say, what can be modified in this way dynamic devices. They are more susceptible to the break-in process than others.;
  • But the fittings do not warm up, because it is a fundamentally different technology;
  • Planar ones don't change the sound much. Although some claim, that warming up is also useful for them, as well as dynamic;
  • Electrostatic headphones need only a short preparation before main use.;
  • They say, that cheap ear models do not need to be broken in. Some even consider warming up to be a method for serious studio monitors.. Although I personally do not agree with this.
Read also

What are bone conduction headphones

Interesting fact! Full size studio headphones may lose their warming effect after a long period of inactivity. Then they can be shaken again by this method.

Warming up the headphones
Image by Gordon Johnson from Pixabay.com

Myth or reality

Do you need to warm up the headphones, Is there any point in this or is it complete nonsense? Perhaps no one can answer this question with certainty., at least, no research results yet.

Proponents of running in new ears say:

  • “The membrane in a dynamic device is made of solid, but elastic material. Therefore, it can be stirred up by heating, how to get a better sound";
  • "We see (hear) difference! Squealing treble disappears and deep high-quality bass appears, volume increases, new shades appear;
  • Most representatives of manufacturing companies in their interviews do not deny the effect of warming up the headphones, and some even recommend doing it.

Opponents of the effectiveness of the method of running in new ears answer:

  • There is no scientific justification for improving the sound of the device as a result of such manipulations.;
  • Private experiments have not found any significant changes in sound;
  • The manufacturer cannot sell an unfinished device.

Opponents of warming up consider the effect, what supporters are talking about, only psychological factor. Self-hypnosis and getting used to certain types of headphones. In their opinion, the perception of a person to the sound of a certain type is warmed up. And they consider the tolerant attitude to warming up on the part of manufacturers to be a common trick.. After all, a new device takes some getting used to.. The first reaction to a new sound is not always positive.. Dissatisfaction with the sound can be attributed to the need to warm up the headphones, and there the user will get used to it and be satisfied.

Author's opinion! As for me, arguments on both sides are weak. And if manufacturers do not directly deny the effect of running, what is it worth, do it just in case. Does it matter whether it is a psychological factor or real improvements?, if a person gets a result).

How to warm up your headphones with music or white noise?

Now let's take a look at the composition., to rock new ears. How best to break in a new device, that is, than? And then I'll talk about the third option, remember, I promised for dessert.

Warming up the headphones with music

The minus of running in with the help of music is a long and incomplete study of frequencies. The plus is, that you can customize your ears. After all, compositions of different genres differ in the frequencies used.. And if you only listen to jazz, then you do not need to warm up the headphones for universal use.

To rock the sound, choose tracks with the most involved treble and bass. For universal use, it's good to break in with classical music.

Read also

Overview of bluetooth headphones Sony WH-CH510, compared to the WH-CH500

Warming up headphones with white noise

Such tracks can be found by searching on the Internet and launched directly from the site., or download to the desired device. The generated compositions are good for, that contain all the necessary frequencies. Even those, which we do not always distinguish well. The method will develop ears quickly and fully.

The only negative is that during the warm-up you will not be able to listen to music.

Specialized tracks for ear development:

These "compositions" were generated by a special program. Tracks unlock the potential of headphones and other acoustic devices.

The promised dessert is the third way to warm up the headphones

The most interesting way seemed to me to be running new ears from an analog sound source, that is, from a vinyl player or tape recorder-cassette recorder. After all, analog sound transmits several times more shades of the composition., than most digital formats. And in comparison with MP3 - heaven and earth. So some audiophiles advise to warm up the device, by connecting them for the night or day to an analog source.

If you have access to high-quality digital equipment, then it makes no sense to find an old cassette player, to warm up the headphones, there is no.

Dear readers! Share your experience in warming up the headphones. Did you manage to get the right sound? What problems have been solved? What model did you warm up? How and how much? Tell in the comments. For you headphone warm-up is a myth or reality?

Summing up

You may doubt or not believe in this method.. But it doesn't cost anything to carry out simple actions and track the result.. As a result of my tests, not all models responded to an attempt to shake them., but sometimes I heard exciting changes in sound quality. Whether the brain deceived me or is it true - it does not change the result. What do you think?

 

Read more:
Link to main post
Adblock
detector

Прогрев наушников

Сегодня хочу поговорить на весьма спорную тему из среды аудиофилов — прогрев наушников. Одни считают, что это просто бред, другие уверены в необходимости данной процедуры. Третьи не верят, но на всякий случай стараются произвести нужные манипуляции после покупки, а четвёртые вообще не знают, о чём я сейчас говорю (пишу). Поэтому расскажу обо всём, что касается процедуры обкатки новых ушей.

Сколько времени прогревать наушники?

Откройте несколько статей на эту тему, почитайте комментарии, загляните на форумы. Вы увидите абсолютно разные рекомендации. Разброс от 6 до 250 часов. Такая разница понятна, ведь научных данных нет. Это лишь теория, основанная только на субъективных ощущениях конкретных пользователей. Профессионалы из любителей выявили некоторые закономерности:

  1. Чем дороже, сложнее устройство, тем более длительное время обкатки ему необходимо. Цена здесь является показателем качества ушей.
  2. Затычки поддаются прокачке быстрее полноразмерных. Хотя некоторые считают наоборот. По их мнению, больший ход диффузора позволяет процессу пройти быстрее. В то же время, именно полноразмерные чаще имеют более сложное устройство, они требовательнее к мощности источника звука.
  3. Для простеньких ушей-затычек средней цены рекомендуют от 12 до 48 часов прогрева.
  4. Дорогие мониторы требуют обкатки от 50 до 200-250 часов.
  5. Прогреть наушники с помощью специальных треков или записи розового/белого шума получится быстрее, нежели прослушиванием обычной музыки.
  6. Сколько продлиться обкатка новых ушей, нужно ориентироваться по собственным ощущениям. Если уже после 6 часов прогрева наушников заметно улучшение, то процесс можно завершить. Дальше они «дойдут» при обычном использовании.
  7. Если после 250 часов пользователь не замечает эффекта, то смысла, дальше продолжать обкатку, нет. Вы лишь сокращаете срок эксплуатации ушей.
  8. Раскачивать устройство можно за несколько приёмов с перерывами, но на одном уровне громкости.
Мнение автора! После нескольких тестов я пришёл к выводу, что 100 часов прогрева наушников более чем достаточно. Если за это время нет результата, то вряд ли он проявится позже.
Прогрев наушников
Изображение Free-Photos с сайта Pixabay.com

На какой громкости прогревать наушники?

Как не стоит использовать устройство на полной мощности, также обкатку на 100% звука делать не рекомендуется. Об этом говорят профессионалы из компаний производителей, здравый смысл. В то же время, чтобы раскрыть через прогрев весь потенциал ушей, не подойдёт тихий уровень. Есть 2 рекомендации по громкости во время обкатки:

  1. Личные ощущения. Следует включить трек чуть громче, чем вам комфортно.
  2. Более точный совет. Установить проигрывание на уровне до 75%.
Читайте также

Как увеличить звук в наушниках на компьютере или ноутбуке

 

Прогрев наушников

Для тех, кто вообще не знаком с темой. Процесс обкатки новых ушей проводят для улучшения качества звучания и повышения громкости устройства. После покупки пользователи часто недовольны глухими невыразительными басами, кричащими высокими частотами, тихим звуком. Прогрев наушников решает эту проблему.

Процесс сравнивают с ношением новой обуви, которая через несколько дней становится удобнее. Устройство разрабатывается, раскрывает весь свой потенциал. Научно это не доказано, но подтверждается многочисленными отзывами аудиофилов.

Прогреть новое устройство можно с помощью специального трека, где проработаны все частоты. Это так называемый белый шум. Или обычной музыкой. Наушники раскроются и при обычном использовании, но подсчитайте, сколько потребуется времени. Этот период может перекрыть срок эксплуатации.

Примечание автора! Есть ещё один любопытный метод прогрева наушников, о котором я расскажу далее.

Пошаговая инструкция для обкатки новых ушей:

  1. Скачать специальный трек или открыть его на сайте. Либо подобрать музыку (об этом расскажу далее).
  2. Подключить устройство к источнику звука. Учтите, что для полноразмерных мониторов с сопротивлением выше 32 Ом телефон не подойдёт. Нужно оборудование с серьёзным усилителем. А вот для устройства с сопротивлением до 32 Ом хватит и смартфона.
  3. Включаем трек и задаём громкость.
  4. Уши можно убрать в ящик стола, в коробку, если мешает шум.
  5. Время от времени проверяем звучание.

Какие наушники нуждаются в прогреве, а какие нет:

  • Совершенно точно можно сказать, что доработать таким образом можно динамические устройства. Они более прочих подвержены процессу обкатки;
  • А вот арматурные не прогреваются, потому что это принципиально иная технология;
  • Планарные не сильно меняют звучание. Хотя некоторые утверждают, что прогрев им также полезен, как и динамическим;
  • Электростатические наушники нуждаются лишь в кратковременной подготовке перед основным использованием;
  • Говорят, что дешевые модели ушей в обкатке не нуждаются. Некоторые и вовсе считают прогрев — методом для серьёзных студийных мониторов. Хотя я лично с этим не согласен.
Читайте также

Что такое наушники с костной проводимостью звука

 

Интересный факт! Полноразмерные студийные наушники могут утратить эффект прогрева после долгого простоя. Тогда их снова можно раскачать этим методом.

Прогрев наушников
Изображение Gordon Johnson с сайта Pixabay.com

Миф или реальность

Нужно ли прогревать наушники, есть ли в этом толк или это полная чушь? Пожалуй уверенно на этот вопрос не ответит никто, по крайней мере, пока нет результатов научных исследований.

Сторонники обкатки новых ушей говорят:

  • «Мембрана в динамическом устройстве изготовлена из твёрдого, но эластичного материала. Поэтому её можно расшевелить прогревом, чем добиться лучшего звучания»;
  • «Мы видим (слышим) разницу! Пропадают визжащие ВЧ и появляются глубокие качественные басы, увеличивается громкость, появляются новые оттенки»;
  • Большинство представителей компаний-производителей в своих интервью не отрицают эффект от прогрева наушников, а некоторые даже рекомендуют проводить его.

Противники действенности метода обкатки новых ушей отвечают:

  • Нет никаких научных обоснований улучшения звука устройства в результате подобных манипуляций;
  • Частные эксперименты не обнаружили каких-либо значимых изменений в звучании;
  • Производитель не может продавать недоработанное устройство.

Противники прогрева считают эффект, о котором говорят сторонники, лишь психологическим фактором. Самовнушением и привыканием к наушникам определённого типа. По их мнению, разогревается восприятие человека к звучанию определённого типа. А терпимое отношение к прогреву со стороны производителей они считают обычной хитростью. Ведь новое устройство требует привыкания. Первая реакция на новое звучание не всегда позитивная. Недовольства звуком можно спихнуть на необходимость прогрева наушников, а там пользователь привыкнет и останется довольным.

Мнение автора! По мне, аргументы обеих сторон слабенькие. И если уж производители напрямую не отрицают действие обкатки, что стоит, сделать это хоть на всякий случай. Так ли важно психологический это фактор или реальные улучшения, если человек получает результат).

Как разогреть наушники с помощью музыки или белого шума?

Теперь разберёмся с композицией, для того чтобы раскачать новые ушки. Как лучше обкатать новое устройство, то есть чем? А после я расскажу о третьем варианте, помните, я обещал на десерт.

Прогрев наушников с помощью музыки

Минус обкатки с помощью музыки — долгая и не полноценная проработка частот. Плюс в том, что вы можете настроить уши под свой вкус. Ведь композиции разных жанров отличаются по применяемым частотам. И если вы слушаете только джаз, то вам необязательно прогревать наушники под универсальное использование.

Чтобы раскачать звучание, выбирайте треки с максимально задействованными ВЧ и НЧ. Для универсального использования хорошо делать обкатку с помощью классической музыки.

Читайте также

Обзор bluetooth наушников Sony WH-CH510, сравнение с WH-CH500

 

Прогрев наушников с помощью белого шума

Такие треки можно найти по поисковому запросу в интернете и запустить прямо с сайта, либо скачать на нужное устройство. Сгенерированные композиции хороши тем, что содержат все необходимые частоты. Даже те, которые мы не всегда хорошо различаем. Способ разработает уши быстро и полноценно.

Единственный минус — во время разогрева вы не сможете слушать музыку.

Специализированные треки для разработки ушей:

Эти «композиции» сгенерировала специальная программа. Треки раскрывают потенциал наушников и других акустических устройств.

Обещанный десерт — третий способ прогрева наушников

Самым интересным способом мне показалась обкатка новых ушей с аналогового источника звука, то бишь с винилового проигрывателя или магнитофона-касетника. Ведь аналоговый звук передаёт в несколько раз больше оттенков композиции, чем большинство цифровых форматов. А уж в сравнении с МП3 — небо и земля. Вот и советуют некоторые аудиофилы разогреть устройство, подключив их на ночь или сутки к аналоговому источнику.

Если же есть доступ к качественному цифровому оборудованию, то смысла в поиске старого касетника, чтобы прогреть наушники, нет никакого.

Уважаемые читатели! Поделитесь своим опытом в прогреве наушников. Удалось ли вам получить нужное звучание? Какие проблемы получилось решить? Какую модель вы разогревали? Каким способом и сколько? Расскажите в комментариях. Для вас прогрев наушников — это миф или реальность?

Подводим итоги

Вы можете сомневаться или не верить в этот метод. Но ничего не стоит провести простые действия и отследить результат. В итоге моих тестов не все модели отзывались на попытку их раскачать, но иногда я слышал волнующие изменения в качестве звучания. Обманул ли меня мозг или это правда — это не меняет результата. А вы как считаете?

 

Читайте далее:
Ссылка на основную публикацию
Adblock
detector